Maryland Car Insurance Essentials

Those who live in Maryland soon learn that Maryland car insurance is among the most costly in the nation. The minimum requirements a driver must carry to drive in the state legally influence the cost. While most states only requires the driver carry liability as the other states, Maryland requires some other additions like $15,000 minimum for for property damage and at least $20,000 for uninsured motorist. They must also carry $20000 bodily injury per person and include $40000 for each incident.


The main thing to keep in mind is these figures may not represent what each driver needs though are the least coverage required. A driver’s needs may cause the premiums to rise. This is why shopping is essential in getting the best rates.

Another reason for the higher cost is Maryland applies the Tort system which states one driver must be named at fault for the incident before the provider pays. Resident can find a means of getting lower premiums by following some hints.One way to get lower Maryland car insurance is to ask the provider what kind of special discounts they offer. A few of them give new customers discount rates as well as loyal policy holders who stay with the company for an extend time. A driver who takes the defensive driving course offered by the state will get discounted rates for up to 10 %. higher deductible also will lower premium but may cause a financial setback. This should only be used if the driver is a safe driver.

Maryland car insurance is the law. Though it can be rather costly, there are a few ways around it. Many providers will send applicants free quotes by email. it is best getting several before deciding which one to use.

This entry was posted in Insurance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.